24 June 2015 – Dead Overhead

Before Class Warm Up
Shoulder rehab drills as prescribed by Biokineticist
Lateral Shoulder Windmills 2 x 20
Shoulder scoops 2 x 20
Foam Rolling of Hamstrings, Glutes, Quads and Hip Flexors (Those sprints made these areas really tight!)

Warm Up
200 single skips
50 Double Unders

5 Rounds:
10 cal Assault Bike
10 Pushups

Bar Warmups:
Romanian Deadlift x 20
Good Mornings x 20
Frog Complex

EMOM
8 Minutes
5 Deadlifts
3 STOH
3 Strict Pullups (modify as needed)
R 1-3 @ 60% of WOD weight
R 4-6 @ 80%
R 7-8 @ 100%

WOD
2 Rounds
40 Double Unders
30 Deadlifts (70,45)
20 Chest to Bar Pull-ups
10 Shoulder to Overhead (70,45)
Level 3- (60,40)
Level 2- (50,35) pull ups
Level 1- (40,30) modified pull ups

Time: 16:41 (50kg and band assisted pullups)

I thought I could do the WOD with different weights (70kg on the deadlift and 50kg on the STOH) but was informed that the same weight must be used throughout the WOD. So I stuck to 50kg. An easy deadlift, so I was encouraged to get those out unbroken, to make up for the lack of weight. The STOH had me slightly concerned, as I hadn’t lifted that much since the injury, I did some test runs at that weight and it felt good, so I was happy. 🙂 I managed to get the first round of deadlifts unbroken but the second round I split 20-10.  My grip was suffering (also because of inactivity over the past few months). Pullups were split into sets of 3, and were really hard. I split the STOH into two sets of 5 and utilised the push jerk to make up for the lack of stabilizing muscles on my right shoulder. Double unders went well – I’m enjoying them 🙂 All in all, a great WOD!

Leave a Reply

