15 September – A Dead Ringer

Strength
Deadlifts
1×5 60% (100kg)
1×3 70%  (115kg)
1×2 80% (130kg)
1×2 90% (145kg)
1×1 100% (160kg)
1×1 105% (170kg)(Failed this attempt)

WOD
10 Minute AMRAP
10 Deadlifts (100,70)
10 Ring Dips
Level 2- (80,55)
Level 1- (60,40)

Score: 4.14 (Rx)

Ca$hout
Max Calories on the Airdyne in 2 Minutes- Take turns on the Bikes

Today taught me that the mind can talk you out of anything. During the strength portion I wasn’t aware of the weights and was simply going up and lifting whatever was there. I then realised that I pulled 160kg quite easily and was shocked when I found out it was 160kg. Then the mind started playing games. I thought I was mentally ready, but I had already conceded before even attempting the 170kg weight (105%). I got to about halfway and dropped it, thinking I wasn’t going to make it. I tried 165kg and didn’t even get that. Was totally out of the zone.  If I didn’t know what I was pulling I probably would’ve got that weight. Mental fortitude needs to be built up in this regard. Sometimes what you don’t know will help you.

The WOD was a tough one, especially the rings. Deadlifts felt okay, given that we just hoisted heavier weights just before the WOD. I was glad that I was able to the ring dips on the olympic rings, with kipping. Shoulder felt good as well as the area that got injured, it really worked hard (with no pain, yay!)

Leave a Reply

