1 March 2016 – Going HAM(mie)

It’s been a month since my last post, and like clockwork I got injured again. A week before the Open!

This time it was an awkward place in my hamstring, where the hammie joins the glute. I was playing indoor soccer and towards the end of the game, stretched for a loose pass. The left leg extended and my right leg, which was the base, slipped. I ended up in a very painful splits on the field. I felt two pops in the upper part of my hammie. Walking was really sore for the days to follow and I eventually got to physio where a Grade 1 (bordering on Grade 2) tear was diagnosed. It is now week 3 and I am able to jog really slowly, and squat really slowly. Sitting for long periods of time is still sore though.

I have been trying to keep my fitness up with rowing and elliptical sessions (so boring!) and lots of pushups, but this is the first real WOD I’ve been more than 50% involved in.

Warmup:

2 lap run
15 lunge/lunge/squat
15 Push Up/Calf Stretch
15 TTBB
15 Pass Throughs

WOD:

3 x 5 Minute AMRAPS

Round 1

Row 60 cal
Max Knees to Chest

Round 2

Run 400m
40 Box Step Ups
Max Air Squats

Round 3

250 Double Unders
40 Situps
Max Reps KB Swings

Score:

Round 1: 25 Knees to chest
Round 2: 35 Air Squats
Round 3: 0 (got to 35 situps)

Leave a Reply

