17.2 – Abs! Awaken!

Complete as many rounds and reps as possible in 12 minutes of:
2 rounds of:
50-ft. weighted walking lunge
16 toes-to-bars
8 power cleans
Then, 2 rounds of:
50-ft. weighted walking lunge
16 bar muscle-ups
8 power cleans
Etc., alternating between toes-to-bars and bar muscle-ups every 2 rounds.

Men use 50-lb. dumbbells

This was an interesting workout, but similar to previous years, where you had to put in a bit of work in order to get to the muscle ups. The workout is also pretty short so you’re on the redline for most of the time. I was okay with the lunges (even though they got spicy on the 3rd round), and the dumbbell cleans were also something I could handle. The toes to bars were the movement to focus on as I’m not great at them. My plan was to break them up early so as to not get any no reps (I did get one though – arrgh). Every time I dropped from the bar I felt a spasm across my entire mid section – proof that the toes to bar was doing its magic haha. I got to the muscle ups in a good time, but juust could not get one going. I spend the rest of the workout doing extravagant chest to bar pull ups in an attempt to get that elusive MU. Definitely need to work on pull up strength and gymnastics if I want to get that MU.

Score: 78 reps [Rx’d]

Image result for WORKOUT 17.2

Leave a Reply

