17.3 – Snatch ‘Em

Prior to 8:00, complete:
3 rounds of:
6 jumping chin-over-bar pull-ups
6 squat snatches, 20 kg.
Then, 3 rounds of:
7 jumping chin-over-bar pull-ups
5 squat snatches, 34 kg.
*Prior to 12:00, complete 3 rounds of:
8 jumping chin-over-bar pull-ups
4 squat snatches, 42 kg.
*Prior to 16:00, complete 3 rounds of:
9 jumping chin-over-bar pull-ups
3 squat snatches, 51 kg.
*Prior to 20:00, complete 3 rounds of:
10 jumping chin-over-bar pull-ups
2 squat snatches, 60 kg.
Prior to 24:00, complete 3 rounds of:
11 jumping chin-over-bar pull-ups
1 squat snatch, 70 kg.

*If all reps are completed, time cap extends by 4 minutes.
Note: Squat snatches or power snatches with overhead squats permitted.

 

I elected to do the scaled version of this WOD, purely because I haven’t snatched in a while and I did not want to risk messing up a shoulder on a 60kg attempt when tired. The scaled version is definitely not easy though. Even though the jumps in weight are considerably less, the time cap forces you to go quickly on the pull ups, so it becomes a sprint (almost a pure glycolytic workout). I ended up 4 reps shy of the 8:00 cut off (just about finished the last set of pull ups, but still had 4 snatches @ 42kg to go), which would have taken me to the 51 kg snatch and the 12:00 cutoff. but alas. There were a few time delays with the setup of weights in between rounds but I’m happy with my score, considering I was feeling a bit under weather before my attempt. My first 42kg attempt confirmed my decision to go scaled as I missed it completely – evidence of a rusty snatch technique.

Score: 104 reps – s

Image result for WORKOUT 17.3

Leave a Reply

